Clean Eating Blueberry Scones – Paleo Recipe

I made these scones tonight, and I’m still a little bit in disbelief that they’re so healthy.  Protein, fruit, no flour.  Super good!

Image

Ingredients:
1 1/2 cups cashews
1/4 cup arrowroot starch
Pinch of salt
1 tsp baking powder
1 cup blueberries
1/4 cup coconut oil
3 tbsp maple syrup
2 tsp vanilla
1 egg

1. Grind up your cashews as fine as possible. We use a small Ninja (ha ha, that is a funny sentence).
Image

2.  Pour chopped cashews into a large mixing bowl, add arrowroot starch, salt and baking powder and mix.  I had trouble finding arrowroot starch – no luck at the Target by me.  Byerly’s came though.
Image

3.  Add blueberries.  I used fresh, my friend who referred this recipe used frozen – both worked fine.

4. Mix coconut oil (warmed, so it’s in liquid form) maple syrup, vanilla and egg.  Add to the dry/blueberry mixture.

5. Pour into pan.  The blog this recipe came from (http://fedandfit.com/2013/07/28/paleo-blueberry-scones-2/) suggested a 9″ metal pan with parchment paper lining.  I had neither said pan nor paper, so I used a spring-form (cheesecake) pan.  I lightly greased the bottom to make up for no paper.
Image

6. Bake at 350 for 30 minutes, or till light golden brown.  Since I had the wrong pan and no paper, I did 325 for 33 minutes.  Worked fine, but I’m wondering if it wouldn’t have risen more had I used the proper tools.  Oh well, still delicious!

Enjoy!
Image

One response to “Clean Eating Blueberry Scones – Paleo Recipe

  1. Pingback: Author Lynn Huggins Blackburn, Covert Justice & Scones - booksbylyncote.combooksbylyncote.com

Leave a comment