Comfort Bake – MMMMMM

When I first saw the recipe that inspired this (from Pillsbury) it had a lot fewer ingredients and was intended as a snack.  I stepped it up a few notches and made it a breakfast feast (translation: made it less healthy).

What you need:

5 eggs (go for cage free, humane certified- no beak-less chickens here!)

1/4 cup milk

16 oz refrigerated breakfast biscuits (I used the Pillsbury flakey kind)

4 scallions (green onions, spring onions, whatever you prefer to call them)

1 cup shredded extra sharp cheddar cheese

If you’re into the meats – cooked center cut bacon or cooked sausage

11×17 pan, sprayed with cooking spray (Note: I think a 9×13 works better, but might need to bake a little longer)

One grandpa to entertain your kiddo

Image

Awwwwwww

1. Mix your eggs and milk in a large bowl.  Cut each biscuit (I’m all about scissors in the kitchen) into fours and add it to the bowl.  I like to do this before I cook the bacon or cut up the scallions – give the biscuits some time to really soak in the eggs.

2.  Cut up your scallions, shred your cheese, cook and break up your bacon (or sausage). Add everything to the bowl. Re: the cheese – my home economist mother tells me that pre-shredded cheese is coated with something or other to keep it from clumping.  A. Gross, B. If you shred it yourself it will melt better.

Image

3. Mix it all up and pour into your pan.  Bake at 350 for 25 minutes (make sure it isn’t runny – mine this morning took 28 mins).

Image

Yummy!

I like to throw together a fruit salad as a side to make up for the lack of healthiness, with whatever produce I have around – today it was bananas, apples, kiwi, grapes, and blueberries.  And look how well I did with the apple corer!  I NEVER get it to go that straight!  It’s going to be a good day.

Image

YESSSSS!

81 responses to “Comfort Bake – MMMMMM

  1. Lauren

    Looks awesome! Have you tried growing green onions in water? I found it on Pinterest and it works great!

    • Stargazer

      It does work, but after a couple of weeks the onion tops turn “papery” and dry. Also, your whole kitchen will smell like onions, night and day!

  2. I haven’t but I saw that on Pinterest as well! I’ll have to try it, I heart green onions!

    • Jane MacKinnon

      It works great. I didn’t see it on Pinterest but I have been doing this for over a year. I buy a bunch, use until just the white parts are left, stick them in a glass of water and basically watch them grow. You can get about equal to two extra bunches of green onions. I never have the onion smell. I love watching them grow – you’ll be amazed at how quick they pop up.

  3. Hi! love the recipe, I’m in Australia, what would be the equivalent of Breakfast biscuits? I had a look instore but couldn’t find anything similar.
    Thanks.

    • Hi Molly – Yes I think so! This is what they look like (I use the flaky variety, if you scroll in the little box on your right): http://www.pillsbury.com/products/biscuits/grands-refrigerated-biscuits

    • Doris Whittaker

      Hi, Molly I’m an American now living in Queensland and will translate a little. Breakfast biscuits are canned refrigerated American-style biscuits (not bikkies, of course) that taste like damper. In the US you can buy them at the supermarket. One big brand is Pillsbury. When I made this recipe I used an American recipe for the biscuits and just cut them up the same way. You can find lots of recipes online for the biscuits. This is a great recipe.

  4. Nan

    It took me years to discover the trick with the apple slicer – place the apple upside down. Try it!

    • I tried this about 10 minutes ago – GENIUS!

      • Kendall

        I’m sure people look at me like I’m whacky, but I put the apples on a flat surface when I’m choosing them. Then, I pick the “straightest” ones so that the slicer works more easily. It wouldn’t, of course, work if you buy apples in a bag, or a box, or a bushel, or . . .

  5. Andrea T

    Sounds yummy! Is this something you can make before and bake the morning of?

    • I’ve never tried…maybe mix everything up but the biscuits? Or who knows, maybe they’d be better soaking in the egg mixture all night. If you try, I’d love to hear how it turns out!

    • Renee

      Yes, the eggs soak in more. Great for the night before prep…..holidays! Just let the mix warm a little before popping in the oven. Fluffier eggs!

  6. Amy

    Sounds great. I am going to try it but will spice up a bit with some pepper jack cheese and a little salsa. I usually use bisquick and eggs and it is awesome as well.

  7. I’ve tried several of these recipes, always very good. Could they please be made copy friendly. takes too long to copy by hand.

    • Kendall

      I copy and paste “text only” into Word. It works quite well. It either ignores or puts the word “image” instead of the pictures, so you end up with just the words. Some reformatting is sometimes necessary. If you don’t have Word and you use a PC-type computer, you could probably use WordPad, which comes with the Windows operating system. (I’m sure there’s an equivalent with Apple products, but I know nothing about Apples–the computer kind that is!)

      • Barbara

        If you are looking at your iPad, you can take a picture of the recepie by pressing the on/off button and the camera button at the same time.

    • Helen

      If you right click on your mouse just press print and you will get to print,You may only get the words.

  8. Peggy

    How much of the bacon or sausage? About 1/2 pound? Thanks. Oh, this looks and sounds amazing!

    • Hi Peggy – when I’ve made this with bacon, I use 2 – 4oz, depending on how much I had on hand. I’ve not yet tried it with sausage – but I’d guess about the same. If you do I’d love to know how it turns out!

      • Elaine

        I make this with a pound of bulk sausage. It is my favorite new breakfast casserole. I never seem to have the energy to put together a casserole the night before. This is a great recipe!

  9. Pingback: Recipe: Egg Biscuit Casserole - Midwestern Moms

  10. This looks really good. Going to try this weekend!

  11. Just an FYI — A cageless chicken that’s also vegetarian is one that’s locked up in a building that doesn’t happen to have individual cages inside. It will never get to see the great outdoors because then it would no longer be a vegetarian. A chicken that roams free and is given a choice of food sources will eat bugs, worms, and other critters long before it eats anything that comes from a plant.

  12. Leah

    can you use egg whites instead of the whole egg?

  13. Kendall

    This sounds great!! I may try halving the recipe using the smaller roll of biscuits and baking in an 8×8 pan. There’s only two of us. I don’t have the energy to make my own biscuits for it, but I’m sure it would be a wonderful substitution.

  14. Bev

    I made this….. very good. I made gluten free biscuit to add instead of Pillsbury !!!! Yummy !

  15. I would make scones or waffles for them honey biscuits my self and I am in Aust. too so long as it was delicious I don’t think any one will be up if its not exact as the recipe might say Molly Skywalker (@princessgeek86) I am giving them a try asap

  16. JoAnna

    I absolutely CAN NOT wait to make this this weekend!!!!!!!!!! I am just salavating looking at it~~~ Thank you so much for the recipe.

  17. This turned out great and was quick to put together.. I used a pkg of hormel bacon pieces because I’m lazy. ;) I think I may try letting it soak overnight next time just to see what happens. Thanks for sharing!

  18. osborneonline

    Made this last weekend for the kids and they loved it. As an FYI, it also freezes well. We put the leftover pieces in ziploc bags and froze them. 60-90 seconds in the microwave and they have a quick breakfast for back to school mornings this week.

  19. Carol

    Just made it and it turned out GREAT! I combined all the ingredients in a 13×9 pan and refrigerated the night before. Baked at 350 degrees and it took about 31 minutes. So light and fluffy! Will definitely make this again! Thank you for sharing the recipe!

  20. Lou

    Just made this for as a go to food for my kids going back to school. One word: Awesome! Thank you

  21. Jennifer Stocks

    This probably sounds like a stupid question, but are the biscuits baked beforehand?

  22. Pingback: Sausage Biscuit Bake

  23. Kathy

    Hello,
    Is this an item that can be made ahead of time and baked the next day?

  24. Pingback: Comfort Bake | Good Stuff Only

  25. Lauren

    I just made this for brunch today (with bacon). It was good, but I felt like it was missing something… maybe some spices or other ingredients. Any suggestions?

    • Natasha

      hey Lauren, I saw a very similar recipe somewhere else and in addition to what you see here they add gravy. The recipe called for a gravy mix, but… I can’t bring myself to eat that stuff when you can just make your sausage or bacon and use the fresh drippings. Add flour to the pan fat…and maybe a little butter depending on how lean your meat is….to make a rue and cook about a min. Whisk in milk, bring to boil and season with salt and pepper. To add to this recipe do everything this one says to do, but pour your gravy, fresh or mix made, evenly over the top before you bake. CHECK FOR DONE by inserting a tooth pick into the biscuits. It should come out clean. If you’re still looking for more spice try different kinds of sausage, or a little drizzle of syrup.

    • Cathyjbeck

      Using a bit of sweet Italian sausage can make a big difference with flavor. If you want to use a gravy as Natasha suggested, my favorite breakfast casserole calls for a can of cream of mushroom soup mixed with a 1/2 cup milk and poured over the top prior to baking. It is a surprisingly tasty addition and the casserole is much more moist.

  26. Kristina T.

    My family’s favorite meal is breakfast for dinner. We have it for dinner at least once a week, and it’s hard to find ways to keep being creative. Made this for dinner last night, and it was a hit. Looked exactly like the picture and tasted exactly how I had hoped. My husband, who snubbed his nose as I mixed everything together, had thirds! My 7 year old son didn’t notice the green onion either and had seconds! Great easy way to switch things up. Thanks for the recipe! Oh and I added bacon too :)

  27. Cathy

    It doesn’t matter if you use range free eggs. The chickens are still slaughtered when they don’t produce enough eggs around the age of two.

  28. Thought it was too dry….1/4 cup milk isn’t very much liquid. Will make again but will increase the milk.

  29. April

    Great recipe! I noticed you wrote “cage free no beakless chickens here” but just to let you know cage free does not mean cruelty free. The only way to assure your chickens were treated humanely is to look for the “certified humane seal” on the eggs. It’s an independent group that makes surprise inspections to make sure the chickens are always treated humanely. There are very strict rules to get that seal.Our grocery store usually has 1-3 different brands w/ that seal and the eggs are $3-4 a dozen.

  30. Shayla

    This may be a dumb question but do i need to cook the bacon or sausage first? tomorrow is Thanksgiving and I wanted to make it for a quick breakfast!!!

  31. April

    The cheese is coated with cellulose-which is WOOD PULP! So yeah, you’re eating refined wood pulp. Yumm-o!

  32. Lisa Hubbard

    Sounds and looks yummy, but I’m especially loving the Iowa State cutting board!!!!

  33. dale campbell

    i have a stupid question for anyone who prepared this the night before– should i put just the eggs & biscuits together & let them soak, or should i put EVERYTHING in the bowl & let it soak together- eggs, biscuits, bacon, cheese, onions? any help is appreciated!!

    • Elaine

      Dale – I don’t know about soaking everything together overnight. I think the bacon might get too soggy. If you try it, let us know! I have always just made it in the morning. I think you could fry the bacon or sausage up the night before so that part is done.

  34. Ummmm….YUM!!!! This looks amazing!!!

  35. KimS

    12 25 2013 made the for Christmas morning … BIG HIT. Thanks for sharing.

  36. I love this breakfast casserole! I have already made it twice, yummieee! But, I did separate the biscuits into two pieces and then cut them into quarters. So I only used a total of four biscuits in a 9×13 pan.. The whole biscuit was just tooo much bread. And I forgot to soak the biscuits. I just poured the eggs over the biscuits and it was still yumieee! Thanks for sharing the recipe!

  37. Elizabeth

    Making two for church in the morning, one with Bacon and one with sausage. Very anxious to taste. Cooked meat tonight to save a little time in the morning. Thank you so very much for sharing thi recipe.

  38. Elizabeth

    Just returned from church where this casserole was absolutely devoured. Thank you again, will definitely make it again and again!

  39. Sue

    Try adding 4oz chopped green chili to the egg, milk mixture. Adds great flavor and a spicy kick!

  40. diane

    The first time I made this, I also thought it was way too dry. I’ve made breakfast stratas before, and found the egg to bread ratio here too little. Now when I make it (which is often), I use at least 8 jumbo eggs and 1/2 cup milk. I also sauté a regular onion, which is juicier adding more moisture. To increase the health factor, I add chopped frozen spinach. I now always prepare it ahead of time, and let it sit in the fridge overnight. You can mix in everything, including the cooked bacon pieces. When it bakes, the bacon comes out just fine — not too soggy. I’ve tried it with ham before, but find the bacon so much tastier. Not sure how sausage works, because I’m not a fan. To give it a little more zing, I add powdered garlic and onion, along with salt and pepper. Have one in the fridge right now for company tomorrow, and this time I tried adding sautéed asparagus instead of the spinach. I imagine it’ll be just as good.

  41. ME

    I apologize for being stupid… But are these the biscuits you have to bake first, from those round containers? Then cut them up?

    • You don’t have to bake them first. Yes the ones I use are Pillsbury, in a round tube container, they are already cut. You pull them apart, and then cut them up more (I like to do in 4 pieces per biscuit). That make sense?

      • ME

        Thanks! I just wasn’t clear about if the biscuits had to be baked before you cut them up… Can’t wait to try this… Plus the fruit salad, if course! :)

  42. SallyJoJo

    Very good and simple. I made 1/2 the recipe(3 eggs) and baked 25 minutes in a 9 x 9 glass dish. I also added ham, asparagus, fresh mushroom and vidalia onion instead of the green onions. So yummy!

  43. jedkristy

    Just noticed you recommended vegetarian fed chicken eggs. I have many hens, they are my girls, and just FYI, if you buy vegetarian chickens, that means those chickens have never scratched in the dirt for a worm. Chickens aren’t vegetarians. :) They are omnivores.

  44. Eve Frost

    Made this and it was great. I took one reviewers advice and used 8 eggs and 1/2 cup of milk and it came out perfect. I think it would have been a little dry had I not followed those instructions. Also added a little salt and pepper before I cooked it. I will definitely make it again. It’s a great “company’s coming” breakfast.

  45. Char

    Going to try these this Thursday for a women’s bible study group. Hoping I can make these with egg whites. I’m allergic to egg yolks. Has anyone tried it with egg whites? Let me know.

  46. Pingback: 20 Breakfast Recipes

  47. Ellen

    I just found this on Pintrest and it looks delish!
    I live in the south now and I’m tired of the biscuits and gravy thing!!

    I love your cutting board~
    Go Cyclones!!

  48. Flora

    Just finished making this recipe and it was fantastic. Entire family loved it and have requested we have this on a regular basis. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

