Vegetable Packed Meatloaf and Sides

Like many parents I know, I’m constantly trying to figure out a way to get more veggies into my kiddos – I like to call my mission “The Great Veggie Sneak.”  This meal was a hit.

Veggies

It had all these veggies in it!  That’s celery, green pepper, onion, cauliflower, and sweet potatoes!

For the meatloaf (includes celery, green pepper, onion) I used a recipe off of BeachBody.com (although I didn’t use low fat turkey because my kids need some cals). I love it not only because it is protein and veggies, it’s also one of those “throw them all together in a pan” recipes.  AND MY KIDS GOBBLED IT UP!!!

http://www.beachbody.com/beachbodyblog/nutrition/easy-meatloaf

For the cauliflower, I used this recipe – it’s super simple, with only 2 ingredients that aren’t in most kitchens anyway.

http://www.thegunnysack.com/ranch-cauliflower-bites-recipe/Cauliflower

And lastly, the sweet potato fries, which the whole crew loves…and it’s a treat I can feel good about feeding to my family.  Not counting the sweet potatoes, again, all ingredients are probably in your kitchen right now.

Fries

http://www.food.com/recipe/oven-roasted-sweet-potato-fries-497715

You’ll notice that all three of these recipes require different temperatures – I did all of them at 375 degrees, just cooked the fries and meatloaf for 40 mins and the cauliflower for 50 (so the fries a bit longer than the recipe lists, the meatloaf and cauliflower a bit shorter).

Viola!  Veggies they enjoy.  Mom gets a pat on the back 🙂

Screen Shot 2016-01-24 at 1.46.06 PM

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

