Teagie – June/July Round Up

Hello friends!  I didn’t post at the end of June, because I didn’t feel like there was a lot to say…but July’s been gangbuster!

Communication

The list of words Teagan understands is getting longer by the day.  Clap, wave, stomp, night-night, dance-dance, ear (thanks Grandma and Grandpa!), foot, splash, shake, book, ball, shoe.  I may be forgetting some – we keep a list on the fridge so I can give her teacher a report when she comes to visit.  On the downside of communication, the number of sounds T makes has gone down – she’s really resorted back to only Ds and Ns, and has picked up this LOUD scream that definitely happens most when I’m around but not looking directly at her, even if I’m holding her.  Kristin told me to keep an eye on it, but not worry too much yet, because it isn’t uncommon for kids to stop talking when they are fine-tuning their motor skills.  I’m still nervous.

But anyway – it’s awesome that she is understanding so much.  I’m going to post a video of her demonstrating her new moves (especially dance-dance – so cute) at some point, but it’s tough, because once the phone comes out, she has a one track mind.  So fun to play with mommy’s phone!

Eating

The eating…are you guys ready for this…it’s gotten better!  OH PRAISE THE LORD IT HAS GOTTEN BETTER!!  It’s so nice to drive home from work and not dread the dinner that is coming up.  She feeds herself some foods fabulously – more than just pancakes ;-).  Peanut butter and jelly or toasted turkey and cheese, oatmeal, cream of wheat, puffs, yogurt melts, scrambled eggs, hamburger, cookies.  We still have to feed her veggies – but she doesn’t spit them out, so I’ll take it.  She likes broccoli with cheese, and this mashed cauliflower recipe I found on Pinterest http://pinterest.com/pin/16255248626382085/     (which I love to – although admittedly, there is more butter and salt involved when I feed it to myself).  And she definitely has a thing for muffins – just like her mama!

Fun!

We have been doing a lot of fun things this summer, starting with swim lessons at Foss.  If we were still in the first three weeks, this would be in a section titled “Trying to Pull Mommy’s Hair Out” vs. Fun.  Teagan would scream and cling to me like a vice – luckily, the teacher is very patient and continually encouraged me not to give up and that eventually she would love it.  Teagan usually loves water, so I had a theory that it was the situation (it’s loud, it’s a weird temperature, lots of strangers around) not the water that was bugging her.  I called Julie, who is on maternity leave until her twins can drive (HA!  Julie, if you’re reading, I tease because I miss you – although we love Kristin too!  Can I have both please? ;-)) who said lots of kiddos – different needs or not – have trouble with new stimuli, and need some time to adjust to them.  Most people think “oh, she’s one, she’ll grow out of it,” which I suppose is true – but giving them some time to adjust or offering them extra security (a blanket or favorite toy, squeezing them extra tight when entering new situations) can help.  So last time, we went to swim lessons 15 minutes early, and just sat on the benches in the pool room watching the class before us.  Class was a BREEZE!  She smiled and laughed, she gave the teacher high-five, she was excited to go under water.  At the end of class, I still had all my hair and my swimsuit was where it was supposed to be.  Teacher and the patient mother who shares class with us gave Teag a round of applause.  Success.  We did our swim lesson routine with Maddy (Becky’s daughter) at Lisa, Joe, and Addie’s pool the day after that – lots of smiles and fun!

We had a visit from my very best friends who I met in college in June, Molly and Tracie – time with these girls is good for my soul.  And Teag had fun too!  We both finally got to meet Tracie’s sweet baby girl Hope.

Molly

Teag reading books with her God-Mother

Screen shot 2013-07-24 at 8.56.21 AM

Fun on the trampoline with Tracie and Hope

We spent the 4th of July weekend in Iowa with Joel’s parents, as well as Aunt Jaime, Uncle Jeff, and Teag’s cousins (THREE of them now).  We took Teagan to her first parade – she liked the horses and tractors, not a huge fan of sirens.  We went to Joel’s hometown reunion, which included a street dance – there are few things more fun than a small town Iowa street dance.

Villisca

Waiting for the parade!

When we’re not busy driving to Iowa (2 times in 3 weeks…and one more to go for my 15 yr reunion – ish) we are playing at the pool, boating with friends, and having general summer fun.  I hope by the end of summer, she is making lots of sounds again, and using her sippy cup.  We shall see!

boat

Boating with Scott and Levi

One response to “Teagie – June/July Round Up

  1. Pat Reese

    Love the updates, Kathy! So glad to hear all is going well. She is one very lucky lady to have you & Joel as parents! The prayers for all of you will continue.

Leave a Reply

