Caprese! Hooray!

Another recipe that looks fancy and is SO simple.  My favorite!  And this is great sitting on the deck with a glass of wine food, can’t wait to share with friends this weekend!

done

You need

Image

3 ripe red tomatoes  (I like Bushel Boy – Minnesota love!)

1 log of mozzarella (or two balls)

Package of fresh basil leaves

1/2 cup balsamic vinegar

Olive oil

Salt & pepper

Heat your balsamic – not balsalmic, I learn something new every day – vinegar on med high heat.  Slice up your tomatoes, slice ’em up real nice, julienne will not work here (that’s a Friends joke).  Slice up your mozzarella – or buy Culinary Circle brand, and it’s already sliced (what whaaaaaaat, that was a nice surprise!).

Image

Arrange on your pretty plate, mozzarella, basil leaf, tomato.  Mozzarella, basil leaf, tomato. Is your vinegar boiling?  Turn it down to a simmer till it’s reduced to about half.  Warning: I did an awful job with my reduction, my mom will probably comment and tell us all the right way to do it.  Anywoo…

Image

Drizzle with your reduction when it gets nice and syrupy.  I was afraid of burning mine, so I turned it down, and then I got impatient, which is why it’s so runny – it should fall on your salad in nice lines, rather than running into the tomatoes.  It still tasted yummy, but I think it would have been sweeter had I done it right.

Image

Drizzle with olive oil if you wish.  In my opinion this was extra calories for not that much extra taste, but some people love it – although, I guess when your recipe is over 1/3 mozzarella, you’ve maybe already lost the calorie battle.  Give your arrangement a sprinkle or two of salt and pepper.  Tada!!  Delicious, beautiful, and SO easy!!

One response to “Caprese! Hooray!

  1. Maryellyn

    Sometimes I get impatient when I reduce vinegar, too!

Leave a Reply

